Out from Hiding

Well the title says it all, It’s time I came out from hiding. Who am I? I’m Fiona, the third person to form Paper Pesto. I was trying to avoid posting anything on the blog, because…..as Kate said in the Paper Pesto web site I have a different side to my brain compared to most people. Now to make room for this gift, nature decided I did not need the wiring for anything technical and worse made me dyslexic. This information I hid for years, only revealing my secret to a few.

Then two of my three children were diagnosed with dyslexia. This was devastating for me because I knew what they were in for. Why could I have not given them my eye colour only! Now I know that it is no big deal, though frustrating at times, it’s OK to say I’m dyslexic. So bear with me,when you see that I’ve spelt something wrong or the flow’s not there because I want to share this space with you.

So the first thing I would like to share is a wee project. Anyone can join in, and my intention is for this to be an ongoing project. Those of you who subscribe to our monthly collections will find two plain luggage tags in your kit (starting with July), anyone else will need to source or make some. Once a fortnight I will post a single word. Think about this word and what meaning it has to you and what your first thoughts were when you read it. Then, alter your tag and include this word and any thing else you want to.

Let it be free to turn out how ever it does; NO PRESSURE, just you and your craft having some chill time. Great for those who have lost their mojo or would like to keep a record of their thoughts or are short on time. This will eventually become a simple and beautiful little piece of inspiration, whether one day you use it to come up with an idea for a page or choose a word for the day’s focus.

Here is one that I did to show you what I’m on about. We dyslexics like pictures. Well it’s been nice to be here, so I’ll be back.

Believe in yourself – you can do it!

Fi

Game of tag

14 Responses to Out from Hiding

  1. Hannah says:

    It’s nice to hear from you for the first time, Fiona! I hope you’ll keep posting. The tag challenge sounds fun, I hope I’ll find the time to join in 🙂

  2. Fi I just love the idea and your tag…I have a mild form of dyslexia and it tends to turn up when i am talking if i am stressed, upset or angry…

    Way to go you!

  3. MarniT says:

    Hey Fi, thanks for sharing with us and it’s great to see you get active on the blog. This tag looks great.

  4. Ann says:

    Hi Fiona, nice to see you on the blog and thanks for sharing a bit about yourself with us.

    The tag idea is great!

  5. Mish says:

    Hi Fiona,

    great to hear from you… Look forward to seeing more of your work with Pesto…
    And from a wife of a dyslexic and 3 children with dyslexia, I know exactly where you are coming from, the struggles faced, and overcome!!!!
    Cheers and thanks for sharing your battle with all and sundry.
    XXXXMish

  6. scrappydo says:

    This looks like a great challenge. Thanks Fi!

  7. Amanda Regan says:

    I’m really looking forward to this tag challenge, I can’t wait to see what the first word is. Your tag was beautiful, so beautiful it has inspired me to get out my half forgotten atc stuff.
    Quick what’s the word my mojo’s up & willing

  8. Celestev says:

    Great challenge! Your tag is just lovely!

  9. Mrs Frizz says:

    Have been popping in off and on today – looking for the sneak peeks of the new kit …

  10. Mrs Frizz says:

    Oops that sent itself and I don’t know what I did to make that happen … LOL. Meant to say, love the tag idea as well.

  11. yaseennz says:

    Heya Fiona great to ‘read’ you! Cool idea with the tags too!

  12. MumScrap says:

    Hi Fiona, great to meet you and Paper pesto team at scrap camp, home now and can’t sleep even tho I was scrapping till 1am this morning! Love the tag challenge, have tags ready and will start myself off with the ‘dream’ as a gorgeous quote I didn’t know was in there jsut popped right into my consciousness. My DH set up a blog for me and hey it has the same background! He has got good taste after all! I’ll be checking on your site regularly now. Loved the criket-thanks so much for sharing it! Andrea @ Table 6.

  13. MumScrap says:

    OMG I have to change that photo, wasn’t expecting to see that there!

  14. Rach says:

    Fiona, not only do you do beautiful work and are immensely entertaining but you SHARE YOUR CHOCOLATE! There can be no higher praise in my book. It was a privalege to meet you at scrapcamp and I echo Andrea’s thanks for your genorisity of knowledge and the use of your Cricut. I’m into the Tag challenge and thanks to Andrea, I have just been given an unexpected supply of them. It MUST be meant to be! Rachel @ table 6.

Leave a Reply

