You can quote me on that

Hi everyone

Kate mentioned a while ago that we’d be doing our best to bring you some articles of interest, tips and techniques etc in the “down” time between collections.

So I thought I’d do a post today on some of my favourite quotes. I’ve never been a poetry fan, but a short quote can inspire me, reduce me to tears, make me laugh, and they’re great for using on scrapbooking layouts. “A short saying often contains much wisdom” (Sophocles).

And here are some of my favourite quotes about children. Last Christmas I made my mother-in-law an 8 x 8 album with pictures of all her grandchildren. There was a quote on each child’s page, and I don’t know who got more pleasure from it – her or me. A number of the following quotes were among those I used:

No man can possibly know what life means, what anything means, until he has a child and loves it. And then the whole universe changes and nothing will ever again seem exactly as it seems before (Lafcadio Heam)”.

Walking, I am listening to a deeper way. Suddenly all my ancestors are behind me. Be still, they say. Watch and listen. You are the result of the love of thousands (Linda Hogan, Native American writer)”.

Life is a flame that is always burning itself out, but it catches fire again every time a child is born (George Bernhard Shaw)”.

You have brains in your head. You have feet in your shoes. You can steer yourself in any direction you choose (Dr Suess)”.

One of the luckiest things that can happen to you in life, I think, is to have a happy childhood (Agatha Christie)”.

Sweet childish days that were as long as twenty days are now (Wordsworth)”.

There is always one moment in childhood when the door opens and lets the future in (Graham Greene)”.

For the Grandmothers out there:

The simplest toy, one which even the youngest child can operate, is called a grandparent (Sam Levenson)”.

If your baby is “beautiful and perfect, never cries or fusses, sleeps on schedule and burps on demand, an angel all the time”…..you’re the grandma (Teresa Bloomingdale)”.

I could go on and on, but you’ll be relieved to read I won’t. We’ll have some upcoming quote sharing for love (not too soppy we hope), inspiration, parents and friendship in the future. And we’d love to hear your favourite scrapbooking quotes and sayings.

Steph

One Response to You can quote me on that

  1. yaseennz says:

    Thanks for sharing these beautiful quotes Steph! Copy /pasting 0.o Know what you mean about quotes..they are kind of to the point- it reminds me of a german saying ‘In der Kuerze liegt die Wuerze – in the shortness lies the punch’. Too bad I cannot make it rhyme in english;p

Leave a Reply

