Waiting for you..

I’ve been meaning to post a layout for the last two days and just have not found the time! I had even told Rochelle to look out for it, sorry Rochelle =)

We had Christmas lunch with Dave’s family today at our place as we won’t be making our usual trek down to Waitomo this year. For some reason I have felt the need to not be too far from home. I wonder why! I’m sure there’s nothing wrong with Te Kuiti hospital, I’d just rather have my own midwife and be in familiar surroundings.

Anyway, today was wonderful especially as my in laws did everything! They picked up a whole lot of food at the supermarket and we had a lovely simple lunch of Ham and other cold meats, salad and buns and Strawberries and Melting moments for desert. We had planned to have a picnic at Cornwall Park but realised the weather was not going to play along when we woke up this morning. But it was nice to be at home anyway, Isabella was given a new ‘big girl’ bike as she has outgrown her smaller one and is now riding without training wheels. Sophia got the most beautiful baby doll. It’s a little boy one and is nice and chubby and soft with a very realistic looking face. She also got a lovely wooden crib to rock him to sleep in. She was very taken with it and as I told my MIL it’s perfect timing!

Oops before I forget again here is the layout! It’s only scan photo’s but it’s amazing how detailed they are these days! This is my little guy at 18 weeks sucking his fingers in the bottom photo. It was an important scan for us, we had been told earlier of some risks of a possibe genetic disorder such as Down’s but after opting not to have an amniocentecis this scan was the only way to get a better indication that everything was ok. At this stage all seems to be just fine but we’ll need to wait until he is born to be 100% certain.

dsc04087

I’ve used bits mostly from this months kit and some from previous kits as well. I love to mix my stash up a bit =)

Enjoy the rest of the weekend everyone and I hope the rest of the lead up to Christmas is not too stressful for you!

xx Kate

20 Responses to Waiting for you..

  1. Tracy says:

    OMG… amazing, my youngest is 6 and her scans were nothing like these… lucky!! amost makes me want another!!!! Nah..twos enough I think for this mother!!

  2. Lianne says:

    I like the colours that you’ve used in this layout.

  3. Rochelle says:

    It was well worth the wait Kate. Thanks

  4. Christine C says:

    Great layout, its amazing how far those scans have come.

  5. Christi says:

    Wow, love it, Kate 😉 It’s nice to do your scan photos. I have never done mine but have such good intentions 😉 What a good start for your wonderful baby boy 🙂 Can’t wait to see him!

  6. TracyP says:

    Wow how amazing!!! And a very cute LO too!!

  7. Cindi says:

    I was supposed to have testing done with our second son because of my age. I told my doctor that I would keep a Down Syndrome child. His response was then we didn’t need to do testing. Alexander is just fine. God bless…..Cindi

  8. kate says:

    Thank you Cindi for your comment, that is exactly why we chose not to have invasive testing. It wouldn’t have made any difference to our decision. Kate =)

  9. Gloria says:

    Great layout Kate. Very important that you and Dave do what you want.That care both all of you. See you all in the New Year.

  10. Ann says:

    What fantastic pics!
    Wonderful layout Kate, an amazing start to your little guys album.

    Have a good xmas and take care, will have to catch up in the new year.

  11. Marcia says:

    Georgous pics and layout Kate, all the best and have a good xmas and a happy new year.

  12. Heidi says:

    WOW those scans are sooo clear, hope you have a fab Christmas and excellent New Year

  13. Dianna says:

    Wow that scan is amazingly detailed. My BIL and SIL had their first baby in Feb of this year and she had Downs syndrome and is the most delightful little girl and doing so well.
    You must be feeling the nesting urge wanted to stay home. Early christmas are fun we seem to have them as family scattered around the country.

  14. Hannah says:

    Those scan photos are amazingly detailed – was it one of those 3D scans? I love the layout, it’s just beautiful.
    Sounds like you had a lovely early Christmas celebration. I can’t blame you for wanting to stay close to home from now on! 🙂

  15. paperpesto says:

    Thanks to everyone for their comments! Yes Hannah that second photo is a 3D one. Kate =)

  16. Sue says:

    I find those scans facinating because they werent around in my day!! We always have an early extended family Xmas and I just love it. Merry Christmas and I hope all goes well. 🙂

  17. scrappysue says:

    wow – the detail in the scan is amazing! i’m getting the feeling this baby might be sharing his birthday with dad maybe? or someone else relatively famous???

    all the best kate!

  18. Nancy says:

    Those scans are so clear. Not around in my day!! Not even that clear when my 7 yr old grandson was born. I agree with your decision to keep the baby whatever. It was ‘sent’ to you for a reason. Have a cousin who is Downs and Aunt used to say she was the least trouble and most loving of her children.
    Glad your Chrsitmas lunch went well. Simple is best I say. We have given up on turkey and all the trimmings. Buy a ham, glaze it, grab what veges are in the garden and have a big platter of food. We just keep repeating the platter thing until we gather enough strength to do something else!!

  19. Vicki F-B says:

    When little ones go onto big bikes without trainer wheels you know they are growing up.
    I just love those awesome scans. When I had my family we were lucky to even have a x-ray done.
    All the best and hope you get to have Xmas day with the girls.

  20. Bron Heslop says:

    What a fabulous gift to your little boy! He’ll take great pleasure looking at that when he’s older, Kate.

    Merry Christmas to you all, and happy 2009!

Leave a Reply

