Have you met my new best friend?

You may not know it yet but Cathy Zieleske (not that she’ll ever read this) you are my new Scrap Queen.

I’ve been scrapbooking for coming up 4 years now, slowly finding my way, discovering what I”m good and not so good at, which style fits me best and why the heck I’m doing this.

Hello!! Why didn’t anybody  introduce me to Cathy back then!??

The woman is a scrap genius. Not only are her designs clean, clever and timeless but she is hilarious and kooky and has you reading along thinking Yes! Scrapbooking is cool, I shouldn’t be embarrassed to tell people what it is I do in my spare time.

So, just in case you have also been in a no Cathy Zielske zone for the past 4 years I thought I’d introduce her. Her two books are called Clean & Simple scrapooking and Clean & Simple scrapbooking – The sequel. I got my copies from www.fishpond.co.nz an online bookstore.

I have to say that they are thus far the best investment I have made in this hobby and I only wish I’d come across them sooner.

You can also follow Cathy’s blog here www.cathyzielske.typepad.com

One of Cathy’s key messages is that scrapbooking is supposed to be fun. If you are not having fun doing this then something is wrong. This is exactly why I downsized Paper Pesto to become something more managable and something that I can have fun with. Because for me scrapping as a hobby is fun but scrapping as a business was not. When I let go of unrealistic expectations about how far I could take scrapbooking as ‘a job’ and just see it for the enjoyment it brings to my life as a hobby I instantly relaxed, and created more pages that told ‘the story’, pages that made me happy.

I’d love to hear your thoughts on this,

Kate xx

11 Responses to Have you met my new best friend?

  1. Penny says:

    I like her stuff too. And yes, I think if a hobby becomes a chore it is no longer filling the purpose it was meant to. I’m not one of these people who stress about scrapping every.single.photo they have or “keeping up” because if I let that idea take over, it kills my creativity.

    I admire people who can run a scrapbooking business as well as produce amazing stuff. I think it would be really hard to create meaningful, real layouts if the style of a product didn’t suit you.

  2. Bron says:

    YES! Kate, after you showed them to me on Wednesday, I came straight home and ordered them (slightly cheaper, with free postage, on theNile.co.nz). Thank you for ‘introducing’ me to her! She rocks!! (and I’m LOVING that lastest kit of yours – it’s awesome!) Thank you!

  3. Mandyb says:

    hear hear sister!!!! I had lost my mojo cos I was trying to be like OTHER scrappers…. then it dawned on me – i was missing the WHOLE point!!! scrapping is about the story and the photos…. and all the other stuff is extra,,,,, I feel I made it too hard for myself so gave up…. now I back in tune with my photos… I am loving- scrapping!!!

    ps isnt cathy a HOOT

  4. scrappysue says:

    i met her and did a couple of her classes when she was in wgtn a few years back – she’s hysterical. if only i knew what she was talking about most of the time. her scrapping style is way cool tho, AND she’s in love with neil finn

  5. harbourgal says:

    Scrapbooking… what’s that? Totally with you on the ‘fun’ part. It has to be enjoyable and sometimes when you put all your time into ‘the work’ there is just nothing creative left for you. Just for the record I think your layouts are GORGEOUS!! You are talented so don’t doubt that you are :o) I will have a look at Cathy’s stuff right now.

  6. Cathy says:

    Well Kate, I’m flattered! ; )

    One of your nice online friends pointed me in the direction of your blog, and since I love all things Kiwi, I had to check it out!

    Thanks for the nice words. Much appreciated.

    And yep, scrapbooking IS supposed to be fun.

    p.s. Say hello to Neil Finn for me.

  7. paperpesto says:

    Omigod! She actually read it! I’m blushing with shame and feeling totally stoked at the same time! How does that work?! LOL.

  8. Bron says:

    That is SO cool! Cathy Zielske was here! There you are, Kate – she knows who you are, too!!! 🙂

  9. gaye says:

    i admire Cathy too and agree totally with your comments scrapbooking has to be FUN!!!

  10. gaye says:

    p.s have just done a Bron and ordered both books!!!

  11. Lynne says:

    Wow – I’ve visited a blog where Cathy Z. was! Yes, I’ve been a fan for years through my sub to Simple Scrapbooks, which, so sadly, is now defunct. Found your blog by Googling “scan and stitch” and am SO stoked to have been taught how to use my HP Photosmart software to post 12×12 layouts! Thank you!!! I’m going to bookmark you and I’ll be back.

Leave a Reply

