Me again! Back so soon?

What’s going on? Ha I just have a bit of extra time up my sleeve right now is all. Kiddies are all tucked soundly into bed with Cam just recently starting to go down at 7.30 instead of having that last little baby feed at 10pm and down for the night. He’s in a good routine at the moment since we ‘fixed’ his night sleep issues about 3 weeks ago now. He had been sick and was waking constantly feeling unwell and unfortunately this waking carried over and became a habit even when he was well again. It got to the point where I was going in every 1/2 hour from 12 onwards to stick his dummy back in so that he would go back to sleep! After about a week of this I’d had enough, I was exhausted, I kept having accidents during the day like walking into things or falling up the stairs etc and I was so short tempered it was crazy!

So I did some internet research and concocted a plan that would work for us. First I went into his room, found all his dummies and threw them in the bin. That was step one and that was hard enough! Then I stopped feeding him until he fell asleep and made sure I put him down in his cot awake, no rocking, no feeding! He needed to learn how to settle himself to sleep and not rely on me or his dummy to do it for him. If he cried I’d wait a few minutes, then go in, pat his chest or back and say shush. I wouldn’t pick him up or make eye contact. I’d stay a minute and then out again. The first night was the hardest but it got easier really quickly and then we were there! Sleeping through the night, no feeds and if he does wake he”ll usually settle himself back to sleep. Dave was great, after nearly 7 months of it just being me getting up in the night he finally came to the party and helped me get through it. Sure some nights I had to give him an extra shove out of the bed and there were a couple of baby settling technique-related arguments at 4am but for the most part it was good and I think we are both pleased to have done it together.

I got some more photos on Friday, these are straight out of the camera, I will probably edit them a little in Photoshop elements before I print. I found a great site through Cathy Z’s blog called The Pioneer Woman and have been getting all kinds of great photograpy tips and having some laughs reaing Ree’s blog along the way. It is a fantastic site.

Anyway here’s my babies, arent they beautiful?

DSC_0332

DSC_0336

DSC_0300

DSC_0369

So there you have it, that’s me for a few days. If anyone has some other baby sleeping ideas or techniques I’d love to hear them.

xx Kate

7 Responses to Me again! Back so soon?

  1. Rochelle says:

    Hi Kate you have done really well with getting Cam to resettle not an easy task for any mum but the only sane thing you could do for your sanity. I’m glad you were only tripping up stairs rather than falling down them lol

  2. Hannah says:

    Gorgeous photos!! Your kids are just beautiful.
    I’m happy to hear that your baby settling techniques worked so well for Cameron, and that you’re now all getting a good sleep. Making changes like those are hard on Mum & Dad, but sooo worth it. We went through sleeping issues with Tyler when he was 6-9 months old. He had been sleeping through, but started waking twice in the night for a feed and then he would be awake for the day at 5am! After 3 months of this, we eventually resorted to the CIO (cry it out) method. It took about 3 nights (and those nights were HORRIBLE) but it worked and he’s slept through for 12+ hours ever since! πŸ™‚

  3. Penny says:

    oooo sleep issues… they are always hard to deal with. Glad Cam is doing well now though. Great pics! πŸ™‚

  4. Kelly says:

    Oh your kids are gorgeous Kate!!
    Well done on tossing the dummies!! I was lucky that Raven didn’t even like them – Taiga had hers til she was three eeewwww!!

  5. fiona newth says:

    Now your cooking Katie Bee.XxFi

  6. Rachel says:

    Your kids are gorgeous πŸ™‚
    Love Cam’s hair doo hehehee – he’s got lots of hair! πŸ™‚ (reminds me of Aaron’s when he was that age).
    Good job on fixing the sleep issue!

  7. scrappysue says:

    they’re gorgeous kate! and those blue eyes! i see heartbreak in his future – with others on the receiving end!!!

Leave a Reply

